top of page

Hey There!

Hey There!


Welcome to Aly Dawson Photography! You guessed it, my name is Aly Dawson! I thought I would take the time to let you get a glimpse into my past and current life. And then as time goes on, I will be creating blogs about things such as color schemes for shoots, an insight on how I run each session, and much much more!


I was born and raised in Waukesha, Wisconsin. I have an older sister, a half brother, and two half sisters. Growing up, I lived, breathed, and loved volleyball. It was my absolute passion, it's what I woke up every morning looking forward to getting my hands on a ball. Spending every day in a gym, I started to take pictures at my sisters games. That is where my passion for photography began! My mom bought me my first camera when I was 13... a Nikon D3000.I thought I was pretty cool strutting around taking pictures. I learned by playing around with my camera. Soon, my volleyball career took off, I started getting better and ended up getting recruited by NCAA Division 1 colleges as a 14 year old. My camera got put away in a bag to collect dust.

At the age of 15 I received a full scholarship from Marquette University to play volleyball. Being the eager and absolutely ecstatic, I accepted that scholarship within 5 minutes of walking into my house from my visit to campus.


Volleyball continued to take a huge spot in my heart and my mind while in high school. My academics started to slowly slip my mind and my grades started slipping. Before I knew it, I dug myself into a whole too deep to climb out of. I lost my scholarship to Marquette and my heart broke. But I was not giving up yet! I found every other option than giving up my dreams to play collegiately. I was told by the Marquette coaches to look at NJCAA schools (2 year programs) and they gave me a list of schools they would like to see me go to as they still wanted me to come to Marquette after NJCAA's. I toured junior colleges and none seem to fill the spot in my heart like Marquette did until I found a home and family in Iowa Western CC. At the age of 17, I verbally committed to play volleyball at Iowa Western.


At Iowa Western, I got my associates degree in Early Childhood Education. While struggling in high school, I came across a teacher (Mr. Baylor) who refused to watch me struggle and fail. He inspired me to want to impact other students the way he impacted my life and still does to this day!


While at Iowa Western, we were ranked 2nd (freshman) and 1st (Sophomore) in the nation making it to the National Championships but falling short both years! Both years I was able to be honored as a 1st team All-American. For those of you who don't know what that means, only the best 10 players in the nation got awarded this. My career at Iowa Western came to a close and my heart sank when I got the word that all of the coaches at Marquette. That's when I started looking for colleges close to home that I could transfer to after graduating.


That's where when I found Illinois State University, I was in-love with everything about the school and program. I received a full scholarship while playing and finishing my volleyball career. At ISU, I got my bachelors degree in Recreation Management. I had no idea what I wanted to do with that degree once I graduated. I dipped my feet into Event Planning, as fun as it was, it wasn't for me.


Immediately after graduating, I got a job teaching K4 at St. Johns Lutheran back home. Without hesitation I accepted this position and enjoyed every second of it! While there I build some incredible relationships and learned so much! Halfway through the year I moved with my best-friend and love of my life up to Juneau, WI... I know... where is that! Shortly after moving, we got the incredible news that we were expecting our precious daughter! After the school year was done, I had to get a new job as the drive was just too far! I accepted a job at Future All Stars Academy which is right up the road from our new house.


While teaching, I dug out that dusty old camera and started to grow my passion again. I was pregnant so very limited on the amount of photography I could do. But I took countless hours of classes to continue to learn and grow in photography.


On September 28th, 2018, we welcomed a 9pound 8.6ounce, 21 1/2 inch long beautiful red headed baby girl into our family. Our lives quickly changed, going to and from hospitals with a very sick little girl. The day our daughter was born was the day that I realized photography was the career I wanted to do with my life! I found a passion of photographing other people's joy and love! I have had my camera attached to my hip since that day!


Here we are today, loving every second of being a momma to a spunky and SASSY 1 year old FIRECRACKER!!!!!! Man does she keep me on my toes. I have found my joy and excitement in capturing newborn babies from my tiny 2bedroom apartment!


My ultimate goal is to own a cute studio, with white brick walls, lots of light, and the freedom to create in a warm and welcoming environment! When that day will come, if it will every come, I have absolutely no idea.. But we all have to have goals to work towards..


So for now.. That is where I want my life to continue to go towards!


Thanks for taking the time to get to know me a little bit more! I look forward to getting to know you and working together to take breath-taking photographs!

XOXO

Aly

4 views0 comments
bottom of page